The Puny Pundit

Musings of a big guy with small thoughts.

Broken Heart

The other day #4 was crying and being difficult.  Annoyed I asked, “What is your problem?”  #4  said to me, “I am a drama queen.”  She is 5 years old.  I look to my wife and asked how she knew that phrase.  My wife told me that #2 calls #4 that all the time.  Well, it is true.  #4 is a bit of a drama queen.  She has a smile that will make all your troubles go away and a cry that will make you wish you were deaf.  She is extremely sensitive to physical and emotional pain.

Later that same day my wife and I hear #4 crying and shouting, “You broke my heart!  You broke my heart!”  My wife and I looked at each other for a couple of minutes wondering (a) what happened and (b) what a strange choice of words for such a little kid fighting with her sibling (most likely #3 her nemesis).  After looking at each other with a perplexed look, my wife goes up and comes back down with a huge grin.  I realized that what most likely happened was that her brother broke a toy heart.  Lo and behold I was right.

I think my wife and I were a little disappointed that the drama that unfolded was so ordinary and literal.  For a moment there, we thought we got a glimpse of genius or maturity.  Well, until then, we will keep on hoping and keep on nurturing.

Filed under: Uncategorized

One Response

  1. Debbie says:

    even if #4 is not mature enough to experience a broken heart, it’s really cool that she has her siblings and great parents to understand who she is at such an early age.

Leave a Reply

About

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 128,408 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

