The Puny Pundit

Musings of a big guy with small thoughts.

Never Say Never

A couple of weeks ago I came across a woman’s blog who shared ten things she said she would never do as a parent but now does. I tried to find the link so you all could read it. Great writer. Anyways, I decided to do my own list of things I said I would never do as a parent that I find myself doing.

1. I will never fight with my wife in front of the kids.

2. I will never talk or play with my phone at the dinner table when my family is present.  And I will always eat dinner at the dinner table and never have the tv on during a meal.

3. I will only discipline out of love and not anger.

4. I will not go crazy about boys because parents who are too strict about boys and everything else drive girls to dance on poles when they go to college or to make an appearance on Girls Gone Wild.

5. No matter how many kids I have I will not let the younger ones get away with anything. My strictness would be consistent for every child for all times.  They will all be treated the same.

6. I will never use baby talk. I will speak like an intelligent person to my kids regardless of their age and I will never change my voice or sound like a different person (like the Wiggles men do).

7. I will never let the kids watch The Wiggles.  Never.  No matter how tired I am.  No matter how much work I need to get done.

8. I will not take pictures of them in the bathtub especially if there is more than one in the tub.

9. I will never lie to them.  I will only tell them the truth every time.  Is there a Santa Claus…truth.  Did you study a lot…truth.

10. I will not tell stories about them in public without their permission.

Filed under: Uncategorized

4 Responses

  1. Ali says:

    Haha, so I guess growing up the oldest doesn’t make you keep #5, huh? There go my plans…

  2. Mike Berk says:

    guilty on # 2. I will repent. Not sure about the correlation of thoughts in # 4 do you have any data on that? #7 – c’mon depriving the kids of Captain Feather Sword? I think my kids liked the wiggles for about 2 weeks.

  3. Andy Pak says:

    two comedy bits come to mind…

    louis ck (explicit) telling single people that they don’t know what they are talking about when they see examples of bad parenting in public because they don’t understand.

    and the british comedy outnumbered (since the parents are ‘outnumbered’ by their annoying, inquisitive, and neurotic children.) here’s a funny clip if you haven’t seen the show…

  4. Wilton says:

    my favorite is number 10 seeing that most of your posts on the WORLD WIDE WEB involves your children in some shape or form. LOL

Leave a Reply

About

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 128,408 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

