The Puny Pundit

Musings of a big guy with small thoughts.

Recurring Dreams

I am one of those people who wakes up most mornings with a clear memory of what I dreamed about that night.  Not sure if it is because of the caffeine but my dreams are usually very vivid.  For the last 12 years I have two recurring dreams.  This may border on “too much information” so bear with me.

DONALD DUCK DREAM

For the last 12 years I have this dream that I am preaching with nothing covering my bottom.  I am only wearing a shirt.  For some reason that shirt is always really short.  No pants.  No undies.  Donald Duck.  Some of you are thinking, “But you preach behind a podium or pulpit so what does it matter?”  True.  In my dreams I am always preaching behind a pulpit.  However, there is the trip up to the pulpit.  There is the singing time before the sermon.  Lastly, there is the meet and greet after the sermon.  In this recurring dream no one ever comments on my weird exposure.  It is weird to me that no one in my dream can notice because I am constantly trying to cover myself up in my dream.  Can anyone interpret this for me?

IMPROVISATIONAL DREAM

The second recurring dream I have is I end up in a scene where I am getting ready to preach.  While I am walking up to the pulpit I realize I have no clue what I am preaching on.  No passage.  No notes.  Every time I have this dream, I do a little intro, “Hey everyone.  Good to be here with you.  It is so good to be here…”  During this time I am flipping through my bible to find a passage to preach on.  I usually wake up from this dream very anxious and with my heart racing fast.  It is important to note that I have never ever gone up to preach without knowing what I would be preaching on in real life.  Any thoughts?

How about you?  Any recurring dreams?

Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Responses

  1. daniel says:

    =) want my interpretation?

    1. I honestly think it’s a reflection of your transparency. I don’t think it’s weird, because in the garden, Adam/Eve were naked and were not ashamed. Maybe you’re supposed to be bringing that message to this people. honestly, you do it every sunday.

    2. maybe it’s the charismatic side of me acting up, but I wonder what your sermons will look like if you didn’t rely on your own understanding or your own preparation. If you walk up to the podium one Sunday, knowing that you had nothing scripted, can you still preach relying on the HS on what He wants to say right then and there to that specific crowd? (not saying you should be irresponsible, but what will it look like if you relinquished that self-dependency to God and took a step of faith?) of course, this is only if there is a conviction and faith to do so. otherwise it’s a taco dream. my 2 cents!

  2. April says:

    Maybe it’s stress? In college, the night before I had a huge midterm/final coming up, I’d dream about waking up late and missing my final. Mmm… maybe it’s different, because in my case, that’s actually happened to me before, haha.

    Hope you’re doing well, Pastor Alex~!

Leave a Reply

About

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 128,408 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

