The Puny Pundit

Musings of a big guy with small thoughts.

Why I Blog

This is my 50th blog entry.  To celebrate I thought I would share with my readers why I blog.  If you know my wife an explanation is needed.  My wife is a very private person.  Marrying me screwed that part of her life up.  I talk about her during sermons, bible studies, etc.  I feel bad.  There are so many Sundays in the last ten years where people will go up to her and make a vague reference to a story I told during a message.  “Hey Michele!  Paper is cool!”  My poor wife smiles and wonders what the heck they were talking about.

Knowing that my wife is a private person I asked her for permission to blog.  I also told her she has the power to censor and to pull the plug anytime.  No questions asked.  However, she is really supportive of me blogging about family stuff.  Why you ask?  The answers to this question are the answers to the bigger question of why I blog.

Reason #1: Encourage Parents.

Parenting is extremely difficult.  Not only is it hard it is even harder to know how you are doing.  There are no report cards.  There are no promotions.  There are no diplomas.  You just go with what you have and do the best you can.  There are incredible moments of joy as we receive these little gifts.  Parenting is an amazing privilege.  However, there are times when you feel like you are not gonna make it.  It overwhelms you.  It confuses you.  You worry.  You stress.

My hope with this blog is to share stories that will hopefully make people who read this stuff laugh and smile and know that there is another family out there struggling and growing.  There is light at the end of the tunnel.  It does get easier.  It does get harder.  We parents have to stick together and encourage one another.

My wife and I have been really blessed with amazing parents that have come alongside of us.  They taught us.  They encouraged us.  Theyshared little secrets.  I hope this blog can be for others what our friends have meant to us.

Reason #2: Helps me think about my family

The biggest reason why my wife decided to let me blog is that she saw how much time I spend thinking about our family as I type and think of new entries.  This is really important to her because I have a job that is very consuming.  Ministry is not a 9 to 5 job.  Something always comes up.  There is always someone who needs help.  Due to the nature of my work I don’t take enough time to just simply think about my family.

The reason I blog is because it creates space for me to grow as a husband and father.  Yes some of the thinking time is looking for stories or finding an angle.  Most of the time is spent just talking with my wife.  Remembering the laughs. Remembering the pain.  Processing where we are.  Looking to what is ahead.  This blog really has helped me be a better father and husband.  For this I am grateful.  I am thankful I have been able to discover a little hobby that helps my family even though it exposes them to my small blog world.

Thanks for reading.  Looking forward to the next 50 entries.

Filed under: Uncategorized

One Response

  1. Matt says:

    Wow, you hit 50 already? I’m really impressed Pastor Alex! Congrats and here’s to your next 50 entries!

Leave a Reply

About

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 128,408 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

