The Puny Pundit

Musings of a big guy with small thoughts.

Give them an inch…sometimes they take an inch

I think I mentioned somewhere else in my blog that I am a pretty strict dad.  There are upsides and downsides to being this way.  One of the downsides is that you end up making up so many rules that you forget some of them.  Funny thing is that kids have great memories as long as it benefits them.

My wife and I have a rule.  We both do not like running and screaming in the house.  So the rule is that if you want to engage in either activity, go outside.  A few weeks ago I was watching my kids while the wife was away.  We were at the park and #5 starts yelling and screaming because she was having so much fun.  I instinctively yell, “NO YELLING!  CALM DOWN!”

#5 (who is 3) looks at me and says, “I can.  I can do it.”

I reply, “Excuse me?”

#5 says, “I’m outside daddy.”

I have no idea what she is talking about because my mind can be a little slow about certain things.

She said, “I am outside.  I can yell and run if I am outside.  Mommy say so.”

I finally make the connection.  So I tell my wife this story when she gets back from her trip using it as an illustration of what a lame disciplinary I am since I cannot even keep up with my own rules.  My wife laughs and says that #5 does this all the time.  Once she steps outside, she will start screaming at the top of her lungs and then smile because she knows there is nothing we can do because we established the rules.

Note to self…teach kids about the spirit of the law not just the letter.  Little pharisees are not fair you see.

Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

About

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 128,408 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

