The Puny Pundit

Musings of a big guy with small thoughts.

What A Girl Wants…She Gets

My wife and I noticed that our kids would want things that belonged to other people especially when visiting their home.  Most of our kids (and kids in general for that matter) will visit someone’s home and want a toy or a stuffed animal.  Not #2.  #2 loves jewelry.  When she was too little to walk, women would pick her up and she would stare at their earrings and necklaces.  She would touch them, rub them, and fall into a trance.

One day when we were visiting from Boston or Philadelphia (can’t remember) my mother-in-law goes to visit one of her friends and takes #2 along.  My wife explained very carefully to #2 (who is about 3 or 4 years old then) that she is not to ask for anything, touch anything, and if she comes back with stuff that she would get in trouble.  My wife also explained to her mom the rules of engagement.  We take the other kids out.  When we get back the mother-in-law and #2 are already home.

We walk in and there standing in the middle of the hallway is #2 wearing earrings, necklace, and bracelet.  Furthermore she is eating chocolate holding a whole bag candy and more chocolates.  My wife immediately looks at her mom and says, “MOM!!!???  What did I tell you?”

My mother-in-law shakes her head and says, “Oh my.  Oh my.  This little girl.  You have no idea.”

Wife says, “What happened?”

Mom says, “We get there and everything is fine.  My friend comes out wearing all her jewelry and #2 starts staring.  I told her to remember what you said.  #2 starts calling my friend, grandma (in Korean) to butter her up.  My friend loves it and offers her candy and chocolate.  #2 tells hers that her mommy and daddy said not to eat those things because they will ruin her teeth.  My friend is dying now.  She is head over heels with this kid.  Then #2 leans over to my friend and says I love you, grandma.  CAN YOU BELIEVE THIS KID???  So my friend totally falls for this and gives her candy, chocolate, her earrings, necklace, and bracelet saying how she doesn’t care about the rules.  Hey I tried.  You cannot blame me for this.  #2, oh #2 is something special.”

My wife and I look at each other and cannot believe our ears and eyes.  We look at #2 and say, “What did we tell you?  Huh?  What did we say about bringing stuff home that doesn’t belong to you?”

#2 says, “But I made sure that grandma gave me enough candy and chocolate for the other kids.”

Now the other kids are running to #2 and although she is disobedient, has won over the crowd again. We had no idea what to do or say.  I love this kid but worry about her so much as you can imagine.

Filed under: Uncategorized

5 Responses

  1. connie says:

    i remember this story from one of your sermons. #2 definitely knows how to work a crowd🙂

  2. Julie says:

    Wow!!! #2 has mad people skillz. That totally beats my little sister’s story when she was the same age:

    My sister wanted this huge Crayola marker set, but my parents said no because it was obviously for older kids (believe me, they hardly ever said no to her). So she walked across the street to their friends’ house, tells them the sob story, and somehow gets the dad to take her straight to Toys R Us and gets her the marker set. When he dropped her off, my dad chewed out his friend for taking her somewhere without telling them, etc. etc., but the guy was _so_ brainwashed, he actually started admonishing my dad for depriving his daughter!

    But man, your daughter got her beat in pure monetary value. She’s going to be the one providing for you one day! 😛

    • thepunypundit says:

      i don’t know…your sister’s story is up there. causing two grown men to argue. working a dad that isn’t even yours. she had some skillz too. thanks for sharing that story. fun read.

  3. Wilton says:

    “(Wo)Man is by nature a political animal” – Aristole

  4. Esther Chang says:

    #2 is HILARIOUS. she’s going to be such a great schmoooozer and leader. LOL

    good luck with the dating phases p.alex!

Leave a Reply

About

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 128,408 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

