The Puny Pundit

Musings of a big guy with small thoughts.

I Love You Daddy…Sort Of

I am a sensitive guy.  Sometimes too sensitive.  My wife and I will be celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary (blogs on marriage to come soon…just have to run them by the wife first).  Throughout our marriage she has had to remind me many many times, “Just suck it up and stop being so sensitive.”

Upon hearing this I run to my room, close the door and cry…Just kidding.  Real men don’t cry unless they plucked a nose hair.

The story below is an example of how my sensitivity made one kid cry and gave one of my kids a chance to be funny.

While living in Philadelphia, my wife needed to go to Costco to get some stuff for the family.  I usually go with her and the kids because one thing you need to know about me is that I love Costco.  When I say I love it, I don’t think you understand.  I truly love it.

As my wife goes out the front door, my oldest daughter starts crying.  My wife says, “Honey I will be right back.”

I pick her up and my wife takes off.  Now #1 is going nuts.  I calmly say to her, “Don’t you love daddy?”

She screams, “NO!  I WANT MOMMY!!!!!”

Now I am really hurt.  I come from a family that has one emotion for everything…anger.  Mad = anger.  Sad = anger.  Worried = anger.  Jealous = anger.  So even though I am sad, I express it with anger and say, “Well if you don’t love your daddy, go up to your room because I am really disappointed!”

Side note: I probably said something way meaner, but telling you the truth would probably distract you from seeing that I was the victim here.

She cries and goes to her room.

#2 is a character.  Those of you who know her, she is a ham.  When she hears #1 close the door upstairs, she looks at me with a grin and says, “Daddy…I LOVE you.”

Not even two seconds pass before she adds, “Can I have ice cream?”

My dad told me once, that there is a Korean saying.  Like a river, love flows down not up.  What he meant was that love flows from parent to child.  A child cannot love a parent in a way that a parent can love a child.  Of course kids love their parents, but not in a way that completes them, shapes them, and determines them.  Love flows down.  So true #2.  So true.

Filed under: Uncategorized

3 Responses

  1. Esther Chang says:

    haha so so she got her ice cream? LOL

  2. Joyce says:

    she is hilarious. her comedic timing is so sharp.

  3. […]  She looks exactly like #2 and has a lot of similar personality traits.  Click Here and Here to read about #2′s savvy ways.  One day we had a gathering for our extended family on my […]

Leave a Reply

About

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 128,408 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

