The Puny Pundit

Musings of a big guy with small thoughts.

Mr. Mom | Introduction

Anyone who knows my wife knows what an amazing person she is.  She is the most selfless person I know.  This selflessness has been a tremendous blessing to me and my children.  There is only one problem with selfless people…sometimes they don’t know when to stop giving and giving.  Three weeks ago, I noticed that she needed a break.  My wife is an introvert and thinker.  She loves going for walks and reading books.  Unfortunately being a busy mother, these things have become luxuries instead of weekly or monthly routines.

I told my wife to book a hotel anywhere she wants to go and to go away for a week.  She said no and tried to fight it but I this time I put my foot down and told her she really needs to get away.  I told her that she has got to stop feeling guilty about taking care of herself.

Now some of you readers will be thinking, “What a great husband.  Wow, I wish I had a husband like that.”

Do not be fooled.  This is something I should have been giving my wife for a long time.  It has taken me ten years to figure out that even someone as strong and as giving as her, needs to go and rest, heal, think, process, and shower (mothers know how precious these suckers are).

For the next week I will be working full-time and taking care of my five children full-time.  I have a hunch that I am gonna have some interesting blog entries to share with you.  So for the next week I will be sharing everyday with my readers a mini-journal of my life as Mr. Mom.

I am 50% excited and 50% terrified.  I am excited to spend quality time with my kids.  I am excited to give my wife a much deserved break. I am excited to help out around the house.  I am terrified for the same reasons.  Wish me luck.  Hopefully I won’t mess this up.

Filed under: Mr. Mom

3 Responses

  1. Julie says:

    Hooray, Wifey! (Sorry, can’t remember if you use her name here or not.)

    I’ve loved her a lot longer than you have, heh heh, so forgive me that I have to point out that she is more than selfless. Selflessness alone doesn’t cut it; she is a FANTASTIC mom…patient, sharp-witted, kind, knowledgeable, hard-working, resourceful, passionate.

  2. David says:

    Love the blog and your stories! How did you and your wife meet? Would love to learn more about that part of your life.

Leave a Reply

About

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 128,408 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

