The Puny Pundit

Musings of a big guy with small thoughts.

Things I Learn From My Kids – Selflessness

Kids are selfish.  They are.  From birth they only know me, myself, and I.  Any parent will tell you this. There are times however when your kids will surprise you.

One day my wife and I decided to take the kids to see a movie.  On the way to the theater I checked my iPhone to see our bank balance.  It was 75 cents.  Needless to say I was stressed. When I get stressed, I yell.  So while making a u-turn, I yelled, “NO MOVIE! WE HAVE NO MONEY!!!  My wife was startled.  My kids were complaining.  As we pull up into our driveway my oldest daughter says, “Daddy, maybe I can stay home and you can use that money to pay for the other kids.”

My heart melted.  I drove them all to the theater and charged it on my credit card ($75…damn you AMC) and vowed never again to make my family feel guilty and bad because I didn’t know our finances. My daughter taught me what it means to think of others above self.

Filed under: Things I Learn From My Kids

2 Responses

  1. dra says:

    Wow. Not sure if you’re encouraging us have more children or if you’re warning us. haha That must have been a shocking experience for you, Alex.

  2. Matt says:

    You need to hug Lynn for me. She is a saint of a child.

Leave a Reply

About

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 128,408 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

